SRD muzzle device opinions - SIG Talk
SIG Talk Gun Forum

SRD muzzle device opinions

This is a discussion on SRD muzzle device opinions within the Guns forums, part of the Gun Forum category; First real post here... Ok folks I have the SRD762qd ti for my 300 blk sbr (wearing the flash hider). I'm in the process of ...


Go Back   SIG Talk > Gun Forum > Guns


Guns Gun Talk - For all gun topics and discussions

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Willard
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2017, 06:19 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Midwest
Posts: 13
SRD muzzle device opinions

First real post here...

Ok folks I have the SRD762qd ti for my 300 blk sbr (wearing the flash hider). I'm in the process of building a 11.5 inch upper in 5.56 and was wondering which muzzle device would be best, the flash hider or muzzle brake?

Being the velocity is 3000+ fps. I'm thinking the brake would take some of the pressure out the 2 side vents and directly into the baffles whereas the flash hider would send pressures past the first couple of baffles.
Or am I over thinking all this?
Okimeister is offline  
Register

Welcome to the SIG Talk Forum dedicated to SIG Sauer Pistols and SIG Sauer Rifles.

We welcome everyone and the community is free to join so register today and become part of the SIG Talk Forum!

Old 01-13-2017, 02:47 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Willard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 2,048
Okimeister, getting 3000 fps out of a 11.5" barrel will be a stretch, I believe, and you will no doubt create a huge fireball so I would suggest a flash suppressor, such as the Smith Vortex. If you are worried about muzzle rise, use a heavy barrel profile.
kansascity45 likes this.
Willard is offline  
Old 01-13-2017, 03:41 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
kansascity45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,049
Congrats on your SRD762! Mine's STILL in NFA jail (since April '16 sic). A brake will help protect a suppressor from blast pressure, but your SRD is rated up to 300Win Mag, so not really an issue there.

I have run Surefire's SOCOM556-RC on both 10" SBR & 16" barrels with their flashhider and brake adapters. Running the 10" SBR unsuppressed and with their brake was unpleasant for everyone nearby.

I took an indoor tactical rifle class with this setup - and the retired Ranger instructor said it was the loudest blast & biggest fireball he'd ever seen!!

Running the SBR suppressed is actually better with the brake though, so your best choice is really based on how you'll run the rifle.

My 300Blk will be a 9" barrel that I only plan to run suppressed, so my choice was SIG's brake. It's a cutie - That's SIG's QD on the left:



I have gone with a flashhider on one rifle that we run a lot without a can...

Cheers
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Rifle Muzzle Devices.jpg (108.4 KB, 11 views)

Last edited by kansascity45; 01-13-2017 at 03:50 PM.
kansascity45 is offline  
Reply

  SIG Talk > Gun Forum > Guns

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar SIG Talk Discussions
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SRD muzzle device opinions Okimeister NFA 0 01-10-2017 05:57 PM
Looking for opinions re: P938 reliability Talldog P238, P938 Pistol 13 09-15-2016 12:04 PM
White Spot at Muzzle of the Brand New MK25 THUDore SIG Sauer Pistols 15 07-14-2016 04:10 PM
opinions wanted on p227r carry steveyb SIG Sauer Pistols 10 07-08-2016 05:51 AM
SSG 3000 Muzzle Thread shab SIG Sauer Rifles 2 06-16-2016 03:24 PM


Top Gun Sites Top Sites List

Powered by vBulletin 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
Copyright © 2010 - 2017 SIG Talk. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.SIG Talk is a SIG Sauer Firearms enthusiast's forum, but it is in no way affiliated with, nor does it represent SIG Sauer, Inc. of Exeter, NH.