SIG Talk Gun Forum

sig 2022, have heard mixed reviews, what the final word?

This is a discussion on sig 2022, have heard mixed reviews, what the final word? within the SIG Sauer Pistols forums, part of the SIG Sauer Forum category; I have heard good and bad, so what is it?...


Go Back   SIG Talk > SIG Sauer Forum > SIG Sauer Pistols

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2012, 08:32 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 384
sig 2022, have heard mixed reviews, what the final word?

I have heard good and bad, so what is it?
wolverine is offline  
Register

Welcome to the SIG Talk Forum dedicated to SIG Sauer Pistols and SIG Sauer Rifles.

We welcome everyone and the community is free to join so register today and become part of the SIG Talk Forum!

Old 08-07-2012, 08:35 PM   #2
Super Moderator
Supporting Member
 
sigp229r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: California
Posts: 5,720
I have a SP2022 in 40... I cannot say anything bad about it. It's a great shooting pistol at even greater price!!!
sigp229r is offline  
Old 08-07-2012, 08:35 PM   #3
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SIGtalk.com
Posts: 1,530
Well, considering that you're asking a Sig enthusiast board, you're probably going to get mostly favorable reviews here. But there's no right opinion - you just have to decide what you like or don't like about it.

Do you have any questions about how they operate, reliability, ammo preferences, accessories, etc?
txshurricane is offline  
Old 08-07-2012, 08:43 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 384
I heard a guy that worked at the gun store say i should stay away from them because they are nothing but trouble and people bring them back because they have problems. what are these problems?
wolverine is offline  
Old 08-07-2012, 08:55 PM   #5
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SIGtalk.com
Posts: 1,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolverine View Post
I heard a guy that worked at the gun store say i should stay away from them because they are nothing but trouble and people bring them back because they have problems. what are these problems?
I have yet to hear of anything that would keep me from buying one, especially at $400
txshurricane is offline  
Old 08-07-2012, 08:55 PM   #6
Super Moderator
Supporting Member
 
sigp229r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: California
Posts: 5,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolverine View Post
I heard a guy that worked at the gun store say i should stay away from them because they are nothing but trouble and people bring them back because they have problems. what are these problems?
Gee, I never had an issue with my SP2022... I bought a 357 Sig barrel for it, and I had to take it to a smith for fitting. Other than that, no issues.
sigp229r is offline  
Old 08-07-2012, 09:06 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
vtwinsrule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Uniontown, Pa.
Posts: 219
wolverine, I think if people take them back, it is the people who have problems,
not the pistols. People can find things to complain about no matter what. Most
people are sheep, if their friend has a Glock, they feel they should have a Glock as
well. Learn to use your tool. Don't try to find a different tool just to be like the
other kids you play with. I've lost count on the number of rounds through my 2022
without a failure of any kind. I shoot IDPA with it and use it as my bed side gun. Other
people may experience difficulties, but I can't say enough good things about mine.
MY .02. Shawn
vtwinsrule is offline  
Old 08-07-2012, 09:09 PM   #8
Supporting Member
Supporting Member
 
Sigarms228's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Northeast Illinois too close to Chicago
Posts: 943
If there were a lot of problems with the SP2022 I am sure that would show up on the SIGforum. Over there the SP2022 is HUGELY popular and rarely do I ever read about a problem with a SP2022. I have a German one that I bought in 2009 and it has been flawless through over 2000 rounds now and a pleasure to shoot.

I am just wondering if that store is trying to steer you towards a more expensive/profitable pistol. Just a guess.
Sigarms228 is offline  
Old 08-07-2012, 10:42 PM   #9
MGF
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 932
Got a Sept. 2011 made in Exeter SP 2022 in 9mm. Hums in there w/o fail. Eats up everything I feed it. Some of the best gun money I've ever spent. Hell of a buy, IMO.
MGF is offline  
Old 08-07-2012, 10:52 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 9
Only problems I have with mine are:
- Not enough rounds to fire through it
- Can't get enough range time with it

To be really nit-picky, the only real issue I've had is finding a decent holster for it. Other than that, I love it. I still love my M&P9 more though, but this 2022 is growing on me Really fast.




//Digz
Digerati47 is offline  
Old 08-08-2012, 03:44 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Kenny D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Crosby, Texas
Posts: 2,871
100% perfection. My EDC and I trust it will stay reliable, as long as I take care of it, it will do the same for me.
Kenny D is offline  
Old 08-08-2012, 09:38 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 16
I had a guy at a LGS say the same thing to me, that the 2022s were just terrible and he didn't sell one that didn't get returned or sent back to Sig. This shocked me, because I had been reading positive reviews. So I went back online and actually tried to find bad reviews, and I couldn't find one that I could determine wasn't a personal preference thing. The worst someone said was that they didn't like the feel of polymer guns.

I bought an SP2022 and it has been incredible. I have compared it with my friends 229, and they are exactly the same except his metal framed 229 recoils slightly less, and I mean very slightly.

I determined that one of two things probably happened, either the guy at the LGS was thinking of the 250 which is their other polymer gun and has had some terrible reviews, or he was thinking that because 2022 has 22 in the name it was a 22LR gun (wouldn't be the first time I have to explain that my 2022 is 9mm and not 22LR) and was thinking of the Mosquito which also has a polymer frame and has some terrible reviews.
RagingYeti is offline  
Old 08-08-2012, 10:35 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 385
It seems weird that we have two instances of dealer feedback being so at odds with owner reports. If anything, dissastisfied owners tend to be more vocal about their opinions, so it's particularly noteworthy that the user reviews on the internet are so overwhelmingly positive.

I researched the heck out of affordable pistols before settling on the 2022. Believe it or not, the fact that it's a Sig had no bearing on my decision. The three big takeaways I got from that research were:

1) It's quite accurate for a low cost gun
2) It has a great single action trigger
3) It's dead reliable

Almost makes you wonder if dealers are badmouthing this gun for some other reason. Like maybe they make very little profit selling a 2022 versus a metal frame Sig?

Last edited by majorhavoc; 08-08-2012 at 10:38 AM.
majorhavoc is offline  
Old 08-08-2012, 10:37 AM   #14
Supporting Member
Supporting Member
 
Sigarms228's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Northeast Illinois too close to Chicago
Posts: 943
You are good to go with the SP2022!!

Just get one!

Sigarms228 is offline  
Old 08-08-2012, 10:59 AM   #15
Member
 
tuica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 50
I was able to purchase my new (5 June 2012, nearly a D-Day gun!), SP2022/40 for $341 plus ship & FFL transfer on GunBroker.com. What a deal! Cheers.
tuica is offline  
Reply

  SIG Talk > SIG Sauer Forum > SIG Sauer Pistols


Search tags for this page
sig 2022 .40 reviews
,

sig 2022 review

,
sig 2022 reviews
,
sig p2022 review
,
sig sauer 2022 .40 review
,
sig sauer 2022 review
,
sig sauer p2022 review
,
sig sauer sp2022 .40 review
,
sig sauer sp2022 review
,
sig sp2022 .40 review
,
sig sp2022 review
,
sp2022 review
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar SIG Talk Discussions
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sig P226 Tac Ops Final Review Wolvee SIG Sauer Pistols 28 08-08-2012 06:54 PM
Any word on the P224 yet? Zelig SIG Sauer Pistols 12 06-22-2012 07:38 PM
Unboxing the SP2022 & Final update Oct 3rd Wolvee SIG Sauer Pistols 22 10-06-2011 11:06 AM
Anyone heard of a PK6? Cotowar SIG Sauer Pistols 6 09-24-2011 05:25 AM
Sig P220 Classic .22LR Reviews CalTexSig SIG Sauer Pistols 1 03-20-2011 09:04 PM


Top Gun Sites Top Sites List

Powered by vBulletin 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
Copyright © 2010 - 2014 SIG Talk. All rights reserved.
SIG Talk is a SIG Sauer Firearms enthusiast's forum, but it is in no way affiliated with, nor does it represent SIG Sauer, Inc. of Exeter, NH.