SIG Talk Gun Forum

The Sig P250C .45 ACP: a photo review

This is a discussion on The Sig P250C .45 ACP: a photo review within the SIG Sauer Pistols forums, part of the SIG Sauer Forum category; I bought a P250C .45 ACP. It has night sights. I haven't fired it yet, but I'm impressed with its apparent build quality based on ...


Go Back   SIG Talk > SIG Sauer Forum > SIG Sauer Pistols

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2012, 05:23 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 84
The Sig P250C .45 ACP: a photo review

I bought a P250C .45 ACP. It has night sights. I haven't fired it yet, but I'm impressed with its apparent build quality based on what I've seen.

The slide is as nicely machined and finished as any slide on any of my traditional P-series guns. The trigger pull is long, but extremely smooth and pretty light. The barrel has a
heck of a throat job - it's a virtual funnel. It has a steel guide rod. Sig's twisted recoil spring. The rear sight doesn't dovetail in. Rather, it's held in place by the firing pin.

All in all, it appears to be a helluva a gun for a sub $500 piece.


















Last edited by Micropterus; 11-19-2012 at 04:14 PM.
Micropterus is offline  
Register

Welcome to the SIG Talk Forum dedicated to SIG Sauer Pistols and SIG Sauer Rifles.

We welcome everyone and the community is free to join so register today and become part of the SIG Talk Forum!

Old 11-11-2012, 05:32 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
bearone2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: AZ
Posts: 16,165
then poa/poi will be right on or well off.
bearone2 is online now  
Old 11-11-2012, 07:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Idaho Mountains, USA
Posts: 1,406
I owned a .45 P250 for a quick while.

I got rid of it.

I think you are right in noting the apparent build quality. I said the exact same thing when I opened the box on mine. It obviously is a well made pistol.

But mine had problems. Mostly, the extracted fired case struck the rising next round in the mag, and dinged up the bullet, actually preventing the use of LSWC bullets. And the rear sight is simply a poor design. As b1 says; it's on or off, no in between unless you want to do all your adjustment on the front sight...and don't strike the blade or it might break off as mine did.

All-in-all, I have never owned a pistol I wanted MORE to like than the P250, but mine is gone, replaced by a mint condition older P220 I got a great deal on. Superb pistol.

I really liked the ergos, trigger pull and quality of manufacture of the P250.

Last edited by Valdemar; 11-11-2012 at 07:23 PM.
Valdemar is offline  
Old 11-11-2012, 08:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southern Idaho
Posts: 1,147
I want the SC .45 for EDC.
SnakeShooter17 is offline  
Old 11-12-2012, 04:42 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Idaho Mountains, USA
Posts: 1,406
Regardless of my own experience with the pistol, Micropterus; Really superb pix...as always!! Thanks for posting them.
Valdemar is offline  
Old 11-19-2012, 04:20 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 84
Just an update. I've run 125 standard rounds through it so far. 100 rounds of Remington UMC and 25 rounds of Remington Golden Sabre. No problems at all and accuracy is easily on par with my P220s.

Here's the part that makes me a bit giddy: I ran 10 rounds of old CCI .45 ACP shot cartridges through it. I had no stopages with this stuff. I ran is slowly but it cycled. I have 10 more rounds of this stuff left and I am going to try and shoot video of it running through the shot cartridges.

So far, I'm very happy with it.
Micropterus is offline  
Old 11-19-2012, 07:23 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hampton VA USA
Posts: 4
My wife and I were at Bobs gun shop in Norfolk VA about two weeks ago when I got the call the state police verified it was safe to let me come pick up the H&K Umarex MP5 A5. My wife was looking to purchase a sig and she chose this p 250 out of a whole gun case of sigs. My first impression was this gun looked decent for the price but when I held it I noticed the slide catch lever was tiny and barely sticking out enough for my thumb. The slide was locked back and I tried to close the slide just with my thumb and it was very difficult. Now I knew this was a new non broken in weapon and my wife would have way more of a problem with it then I did. I told her she could just pull on the slide and release and it would to the same but I discuraged her from getting it because the controls wernt as egronomical as any other sig Ive owned or op tested. So with that said and you actually cycling rounds through her did you have any trouble chambering rounds by pressing the slide catch?
Tommy Gunz is offline  
Old 11-20-2012, 01:51 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 84
No. But the act has to be deliberate. I usually slingshot the first round into the chamber but using the slide stop is no problem at all. If you had not brought it up, I wouldn't have thought about it.

The good thing about the slide stop is that it's not intrusive if you shoot with a thumbs-forward grip. My SP2022 is horrible in this respect and I've had to develope a new hold just for that gun due to controls that stick out. The P250 is easy to shoot thumbs forward.
Micropterus is offline  
Reply

  SIG Talk > SIG Sauer Forum > SIG Sauer Pistols


Search tags for this page

p250c .45 review

,
p250c 45
,

sig 250c 45 review

,

sig p250 45 acp review

,

sig p250c 45

,

sig p250c 45 review

,
sig p250c 45 reviews
,
sig p250c reviews
,
sig sauer 250c 45 acp review
,
sig sauer p250 45 acp review
,
sig sauer p250c 45 acp
,
sig sauer p250c reviews
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar SIG Talk Discussions
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New guy p250c P250C New Users 5 11-01-2012 09:13 AM
SIG 716 Review Brawny180 SIG Sauer Rifles 13 09-23-2012 04:41 PM
family photo sdg380 SIG Sauer Pistols 14 11-08-2011 11:20 PM
Looking at a P250c... 360glitch SIG Sauer Pistols 7 01-31-2011 08:55 AM


Top Gun Sites Top Sites List

Powered by vBulletin 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
Copyright © 2010 - 2014 SIG Talk. All rights reserved.
SIG Talk is a SIG Sauer Firearms enthusiast's forum, but it is in no way affiliated with, nor does it represent SIG Sauer, Inc. of Exeter, NH.