SIG Talk Gun Forum

Review: SIG 1911

This is a discussion on Review: SIG 1911 within the SIG Sauer Pistols forums, part of the SIG Sauer Forum category; I ran across this article earlier today...didn't seem positive and it was written by a SIG Fanboy to boot. Has anyone else experienced similar problems??? ...


Go Back   SIG Talk > SIG Sauer Forum > SIG Sauer Pistols

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2012, 06:19 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 333
Review: SIG 1911

I ran across this article earlier today...didn't seem positive and it was written by a SIG Fanboy to boot.

Has anyone else experienced similar problems???

Gun Review: SIG SAUER 1911 Nitron | The Truth About Guns

Thoughts? Comments?
MIWildcat is offline  
Register

Welcome to the SIG Talk Forum dedicated to SIG Sauer Pistols and SIG Sauer Rifles.

We welcome everyone and the community is free to join so register today and become part of the SIG Talk Forum!

Old 12-05-2012, 05:44 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Longitude Zero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: OKC
Posts: 845
Maybe he did truly get a lemon. SIG is not exempt from making some. I am slightly surprised at his difficulties. I will be holding off on judgement until he get the aformentioned replacement from SIG and shoots it.
Longitude Zero is offline  
Old 12-05-2012, 07:40 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
bearone2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: AZ
Posts: 17,802
it's one perspective.
bearone2 is offline  
Old 12-05-2012, 10:08 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 336
I don't have a SIG 1911, but everyone I know who has one loves it and says it's one of the best 1911s they've ever had. Perhaps he did get one of the rare lemons SIG puts out. Or perhaps his issues could be characterized as "operator error" (i.e.--he's a dumbass). I think both are equally likely possibilities.
TravestyTrav is offline  
Old 12-05-2012, 11:25 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
dbrow62720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 291
I happen to have a Sig 1911 looks like the same model he has in his pictures. No "strange" protrusion on the slide, and this gun works flawlessly like every other Sig I own. Lets see if he just got a lemon, I betting he did. When you work with steel, iron, stainless just a few tenths of a thousands of an inch can make a difference. Buy one you will love it. This is my first full size 1911 since shooting my military Colt 1911. It shoots far more accurate than that one did ;-)
dbrow62720 is offline  
Old 12-05-2012, 12:38 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: louisville, ky
Posts: 17
funny how he "couldn't get a good" pic of the strange protrusion on the back of the slide. i have 2 sig 1911's that have been nothing but spectacular in the performance and reliability department. i am sure sig will take care of this.
teefus is offline  
Old 12-05-2012, 12:41 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Siggybaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Georgia-North and East of The Big Chicken :-)
Posts: 3,442
No problems with my SIG 1911.
Siggybaby is offline  
Old 12-05-2012, 12:56 PM   #8
Supporting Member
Supporting Member
 
Sigarms228's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Northeast Illinois too close to Chicago
Posts: 981
My 2008 vintage SIG GSR 1911 has been a stunning pistol to own and shoot.


Last edited by Sigarms228; 07-25-2014 at 05:31 PM.
Sigarms228 is online now  
Old 12-05-2012, 03:24 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
lgustavus81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: houston tx
Posts: 2,297
he didnt look very comfortable with the recoil off that 45! i have a polymer Springfield XDm chambered in 45 and the recoil on it doent rock me anywhere near what it looked like he was experiencing. Looked like he might have been limp wristing it a bit.
lgustavus81 is online now  
Old 12-05-2012, 04:12 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 333
He's an experienced shooter and I'd bet it was just a lemon--they happen. I ended up getting a 9mm x-change kit fr my P226 that had a problem with the hood. SIG replaced the barrel and it works flawlessly.

I bet he does a follow-up as they have for other problem guns.
MIWildcat is offline  
Old 12-05-2012, 04:30 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 84
My Stainless Carry has been flawless. It has cycled FMJs as well as Gold Dots, Golden Sabres and Hydra-Shocks without a hitch.
Micropterus is offline  
Old 12-05-2012, 05:31 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 257
I bought my first Sig 226 9mm 30 years ago. I put over 4,000 rounds tru it without trouble.I also had a P220 45acp worked great. I have a P230 380acp over five years never a hang up. I now have a Sig 1911 TACPAC, a sig1911U 45 compact, a Sig P938 9mm, I have two P238,s 380ACP. One my wife carries. They all work great right of the box. I have other guns H&K,STI. they all work.

Last edited by AngeloG; 12-05-2012 at 05:34 PM.
AngeloG is offline  
Old 12-06-2012, 06:34 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 11
All my Sigs run perfect. RCS 1911 compact, P938, P238.
Mike is offline  
Old 12-06-2012, 07:07 PM   #14
Member
 
B5Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 43
I'm sad to read this... On top of my nearly paid for P229 (being a high school teacher with a quality firearm addiction ain't easy ), I'm working on a 1911 Stainless Rail. I got it because I love Sigs and 1911s and figured they couldn't go wrong. It won't dissuade me from my purchase or make me lose any sleep. I own a Taurus or two as well (can I admit that here?). Still, hate to hear so many whiners condemning an entire brand's line, especially when that brand is Sig!
B5Dan is offline  
Old 12-08-2012, 06:15 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: tucson az
Posts: 750
my ultra has been flawless so far . I will let ya know how my fastback does this weekend
nick is offline  
Reply

  SIG Talk > SIG Sauer Forum > SIG Sauer Pistols


Search tags for this page
1911 sig review
,
review sig 1911
,
sig 1911 nitron review
,
sig 1911 rcs review
,

sig 1911 review

,
sig 1911 reviews
,
sig sauer 1911 nitron review
,
sig sauer 1911 rcs review
,
sig sauer 1911 review
,
sig sauer 1911 review 2012
,
sig sauer 1911 reviews
,
sig sauer 1911 stainless review
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar SIG Talk Discussions
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wife's new mosquito review rooster79 SIG Sauer Pistols 15 01-09-2013 12:10 PM
Video Review of FN FNX .45ACP Amsdorf Guns 1 11-08-2012 05:41 AM
SIG 716 Review Brawny180 SIG Sauer Rifles 13 09-23-2012 04:41 PM
Sig P226 Tac Ops Final Review Wolvee SIG Sauer Pistols 28 08-08-2012 06:54 PM
Smith3466's Mag holders, a review Reliable Gun Gear 4 04-21-2012 10:55 AM


Top Gun Sites Top Sites List

Powered by vBulletin 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
Copyright © 2010 - 2014 SIG Talk. All rights reserved.
SIG Talk is a SIG Sauer Firearms enthusiast's forum, but it is in no way affiliated with, nor does it represent SIG Sauer, Inc. of Exeter, NH.