SIG Talk Gun Forum

SIG 716 Review

This is a discussion on SIG 716 Review within the SIG Sauer Rifles forums, part of the SIG Sauer Forum category; I picked up my SIG 716 a few weeks ago, grabbed a case of American Eagle 150 grain, and headed out to the range to ...


Go Back   SIG Talk > SIG Sauer Forum > SIG Sauer Rifles

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2012, 02:47 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8
SIG 716 Review

I picked up my SIG 716 a few weeks ago, grabbed a case of American Eagle 150 grain, and headed out to the range to get her broken in. In short order I was plenty pissed about the regular FTF problems I was having. I was ready to ship the thing right back to SIG. I talked to the armorer at work and he asked if I had cleaned it before firing it (as stated in the manual)Ö well I guess I missed that while perusing the booklet. Cleaned her up good (the factory grease with HEAVY) and I grabbed a case of Federal GMM 168 grain and went back to the range. Rifle functioned flawlessly with the Federal. Topped her off with a Redfield 4-12 and started dialing in. Once again, it functioned flawlessly. My last two ten round groups shot a one inch rat hole just south of the center of the bull (prone at the 100). I would say itís on. Had 40 rounds of the American Eagle 150 grain left so I thought I would shoot that up and get rid of it. My rifle does NOT like itÖ about a four inch group at 100 yards but the rifle functioned flawlessly. This thing is a dream to shoot. Super happy with this rifle because with good ammo itís a shooter! Broke it down for maintenance and I canít believe how clean it looks.
Brawny180 is offline  
Register

Welcome to the SIG Talk Forum dedicated to SIG Sauer Pistols and SIG Sauer Rifles.

We welcome everyone and the community is free to join so register today and become part of the SIG Talk Forum!

Old 09-07-2012, 04:00 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
mmaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: CO
Posts: 154
Glad to hear it Brawny180, how do you like the redfield 4-12 optic your using? with the iron sights I was also hiting just low and left at 50 yards. and same at 100. tight patterns though.

Last edited by mmaz; 09-08-2012 at 04:43 AM. Reason: Correction
mmaz is offline  
Old 09-07-2012, 05:43 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 19
I also have the 716 and love it. I was hitting metal targets at 200 and 300 yards using the iron sights. I need to decide on a scope, maybe the new vortex razor hd gen 11.
klmsig716 is offline  
Old 09-07-2012, 09:42 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Bricktop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 414
You need to clean any new firearm prior to shooting it in my opinion. I always do. Some of them arrived caked in grease, and some are bone dry.

I still want to see someone do some long distance stuff with this rifle. I was waiting on the precision marksman model (20" barrel) but I have been told it won't be sold in the US.
Bricktop is offline  
Old 09-08-2012, 04:39 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
bearone2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: AZ
Posts: 14,460
good report
bearone2 is offline  
Old 09-09-2012, 09:23 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 37
No Pictures?!?!
Boogey Man is offline  
Old 09-09-2012, 09:52 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 63
Let's see some pics!
discoed is offline  
Old 09-10-2012, 05:40 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8
I'll get some pics here in the next week or two, sorry. I didn't think to take any. I guess I was too focused on burning up all that ammo. Currently, the range is only a hundred yards so that is as good as it gets for now. As far as the Redfield, I couldn't be happier for the money. The glass is as good as a scope 3 or 4 times the money. I got mine with the AccuRange reticle so I am looking forward to stretching the distances and seeing where the rounds hit.
Brawny180 is offline  
Old 09-12-2012, 10:43 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Got a 716 (olive drab) coming in next week. I have my scope (swfa SS 3-9x42 30mm tactical) and my see-thru rings (burris PEPR) wish-listed and ready to rock. gettin a spring-loaded bipod (harris) too. Totally stoked!! Thx for the ammo advice. American Eagles are what i dump through my 226(40 sw that is) with no problems. Ill take ur word for it though and try the other brand.
Scott701 is offline  
Old 09-18-2012, 11:05 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Blue Springs
Posts: 136
Lubrication?

After you cleaned it up, did you lubricate it in any way? Mine, fingers crossed, should be here by Friday.
Inspector71 is offline  
Old 09-18-2012, 02:53 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 411
I apply a thin layer of oil on every surface of every part removed from the upper. Then I take the oily patch that ran through the bore and use it to lightly coat the inside of the upper. Reassemble. Wipe off the excess from the exterior of the weapon and store. Time to shoot: I run a dry patch through the bore and fire away.

I usually fire 150-200 rounds in a session and have not had any problems using this method. I do use Hoppe's and brass brush after shooting.

In fact, the only problem I have had with any of my rifles was a bad batch of ammo (primers) in my AR.
SIGLars is offline  
Old 09-22-2012, 07:13 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Blue Springs
Posts: 136
SIGLars

Thanksfor the help. I picked mine up Friday and followed your advice to A T. I have not fired it yet. I plan on taking it apart again for practice and double checking the lube according to your recommendations. It is really great to get this kind of advice from forum members.
Inspector71 is offline  
Old 09-23-2012, 01:35 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8
I am hooked on using Gunzilla!!!
Brawny180 is offline  
Old 09-23-2012, 04:41 PM   #14
Supporting Member
 
KiowaKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Secret Location
Posts: 257
716

I have an OD, I have cleaned but due to work and other crap getting in the way, I haven't been to range yet but here a pic of it and all it's brothers.

KK

http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g2...psc4e316d1.jpg
KiowaKid is offline  
Reply

  SIG Talk > SIG Sauer Forum > SIG Sauer Rifles


Search tags for this page
sig 716
,
sig 716 accuracy
,
sig 716 precision review
,

sig 716 review

,

sig 716 reviews

,
sig sauer 716 accuracy review
,
sig sauer 716 precision review
,

sig sauer 716 review

,
sig sauer 716 reviews
,
sig sauer sig716 reviews
,

sig716 review

,
sig716 reviews
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar SIG Talk Discussions
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wife's new mosquito review rooster79 SIG Sauer Pistols 15 01-09-2013 12:10 PM
Sig P226 Tac Ops Final Review Wolvee SIG Sauer Pistols 28 08-08-2012 06:54 PM
Smith3466's Mag holders, a review Reliable Gun Gear 4 04-21-2012 10:55 AM
New SigPro holster, review with pics! Leejack SIG Sauer Pistols 8 04-11-2012 06:55 AM
A must read review and history of the P226 xmortor66 SIG Sauer Pistols 3 01-22-2011 03:07 PM


Top Gun Sites Top Sites List

Powered by vBulletin 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
Copyright © 2010 - 2014 SIG Talk. All rights reserved.
SIG Talk is a SIG Sauer Firearms enthusiast's forum, but it is in no way affiliated with, nor does it represent SIG Sauer, Inc. of Exeter, NH.